Previous Student Testimonials -

Leighann Wright

After deciding to become a professional dog groomer & researching the best schools and courses to get me there, I discovered the highly acclaimed Canine Health & Hydro.

Every member of the team there is 100% 'on it' ; enthusiasm, respect, professionalism, knowledge and a genuine passion for dogs and their care bounces off the walls. From day one - students are finding themselves bathing, drying and before you know it grooming the abundance of varied breeds and temperaments all under the keen eye and tailored guidance of the tutor team. This energy got me and countless other overawed and under confident students to not only become confident groomers and to pass with gusto the City & Guilds Level 3 exams but for me to a point where I launched my grooming business just days after graduation! They believed in me when I didn't believe I could do it and knew just the right amount of push to give me to get me to my goals.

Their ethos continues after the courses finish with a private support group of former and current students along with Poppy and the groom school team regularly swapping tips and helping each other. That spirit of generosity and the feeling of being part of a special team starts at the groom school and stays with you.

I treasure my time there and hope to return to further my development as a groomer in the future. I wholeheartedly recommend them to anyone thinking of becoming a groomer at any level and tell all my Clients that I trained there as it makes me so proud that I did!

Michelle Wright

Having worked in the corporate world for 30+ years decided to take the plunge and change my career totally to my life long ambition of dog grooming. My training at Canine Groom School was 1st class. 18 months later, I'm so happy to say i love my job as a self employed groomer working with Sarah who I met on the course. Thank you so much to Poppy and your team for getting me there.

Louise Barnes

I Loved every moment at groom school, I am so grateful to all there for the time they spent with me, the knowledge they shared and helping me persue a new career . Thankyou would recommend definitely.

Ryan Bamforth

After 20 years in the British Army I had come to an end of my career, I searched many schools for a new beginning working with animals and after a visit to the Canine Groom School decided this was the one for me.

Upon my visit I was given all of the options available to me. The City & Guilds, the ICMG and the week long Myerscouch College. During my 25 days I came across many students of varying backgrounds who were partaking in different courses.

I was very nervous at first, the instructors spotted this but instead of mentioning anything to me, they adapted to suit my needs and adjusted their styles and approach to best suit me. For this I cannot thank them enough.

I myself, have done the duo qualification. I completed my City & Guilds on the 05 May 17 a more confident individual as well as groomer. This isn't just a school, it is a family network with an endless amount of community support and advice.

I was nervous about leaving the Armed Forces and entering into a new career and field, yet with the Canine Groom School I have entered another family of support.

However, please be aware that this course will require your efforts and drive. You will lead and control your future. Poppy, Steve and the Staff will give you all the tools and abilities you need and more but it is you that will make the magic happen.

After searching and looking at other schools I cannot recommend this school enough.

Carol Houghton

For anyone thinking of training as a dog groomer and is finding it all very frustrating trying to decide where to go, look no further. Poppy and the team are excellent teachers. They explain everything, help with areas you are struggling with, offer suppprt and encouragement. The best thing is it does not stop once you finish the course. They are always on hand to answer questions and give advice, be it on difficult dogs or business related. Their fb page for students is the most valuable tool ever. You can chat to fellow Groomers, share your success and cry about a bad day. I cannot praise them enough. They are committed to continuous improvement and organise the most excellent seminars. Think no more, call them. You won't be sorry!

Helen Spencer

I have recently become a qualified dog groomer thanks to all the wonderful training and education given to me by the lovely staff at canine health and hydro. They supported me through every step of the way and continue to do so with their online support through the student site. If anyone wants to become a dog groomer or have their dog groomed to an extremely high standard this really is the place for you. Beautiful place ! Beautiful people ! Xx

Victoria Nagy

After attending canine groom school I couldn't recommend anywhere else, I drive a 90 mile round trip just to get there and it's definitely worth it. I love how flexible it is, working a full time job I can still attend the school around my shifts. Poppy and the team are amazing! They are so kind and helpful and always have a smile on their face, they're always there when you need them for advice or just some moral support. Even on your worst days (because they do happen) they pick you straight back up and make you feel so much better. Most importantly, in my eyes, the dogs are treat amazingly. The guys have a real love for each and every dog that comes in and are treat like one of their own.
5 stars! Love it!!

Jess Hope

Known as the girl that always says "i cant do it" poppy and jess make sure that you can. Want to train as a dog groomer then you will be getting trained by the best here. A very friendly place and thoroughly enjoyed learning. Very supportive team and that includes everyone from receptionist to the hydro/laser team x

Lea Livingstone

I was very nervous about starting here at Canine Groom School as my skills hadn't developed yet! Poppy and her brilliant team gave me the confidence to become the dog groomer I am today..?And I LOVE IT! 
The school provides a very professional and warm approach to everyone's individual skills and helps with anything you are unsure or scared to do..and give the reassurance and confidence you need to get through anything! Thank you to Poppy and the team for giving me the skills and confidence I have today for being the best dog groomer I can be! Leanne, from Dumfries (Scotland) xx

Susan Perry

I attended Groom School 2yrs ago in 2015, I couldn't have chosen a better school to train at, the support and guidance I was given was fabulous, even after leaving if ever I have issues these guys are still there for you � and now a the tender age of 50 something I now run an amazing salon in Lytham with a part time ex student from this very school!
So if your reading this looking for new career look no further

Lindsay Black 

I decided to train as a dog groomer and found canine groom school after doing a few online searches. Ive never looked back since, poppy and her team are the best, always on hand to give expert training and advice and even after the course finished poppy and her team are always available to offer continued support. The course was expertly run and each day we groomed two dogs and various breeds were available. I finished the course recently and feel confident at starting on my own. This school is second to none a must if you want to learn all about dog grooming.

Georgina Ward 

Fantastic place to learn � I had so much support from the team when I was training and this has continued since I qualified. It was a big change from working in a school but two years on I am ridiculously proud of my little 'Dog Room''. One of the most important things to me as a groomer is to continue to learn and improve my skills. Recently I went back to Groom School for a training day with Poppy to prepare for my diploma exams and learnt a huge amount. Can't thank you guys enough...I'm living the grooming dream ��xxx

Suzanne Taylor
What a truely fantastic place to learn. Poppy, Steve and all the rest of the team are just amazing. Always there to help, advise and nothing is ever too much trouble. Lovely atmosphere, made some really great friends whilst on the course. I travelled 1 hr and 10mins each way and it was so worth it, don't let distance put you off. If you are looking for a school then this is your place. ??

 

Claire Taylor

Almost three years on and I'm still being supported in many ways by Groom School (seminars, active forums etc). Its actually had a brilliant, bright,spangly refurb since I passed my exams so is even better! Still the same amazingly helpful Poppy & Steve along with their excellent staff who put alot of thought and effort into every step that you need to take to complete whichever course/route that you decide to go down.

Not only do you learn how to groom but you're also given the confidence and advice to go it alone or work for someone in a salon.

Yes it's a big step (going out of your comfort zone and an expense) but so well worth it! �

Ruby Cameron 

What an amazing place! I loved my time at the grooming school I have learnt so much and now I am a fully qulified dog groomer can't believe it, thank you Poppy and the girls, they are brilliant tutors and I can't thank them enough. Ruby

Kim Pilkington 

When I started at Canine Groom School I didn't have a clue what I was doing, however with the amazing help and support of Poppy, Jess and Sarah I learnt so much. Their experience meant that any question you have they will give you their best advice to help you. I was scared when I started that I would not be able to do it all in such a short space of time but with everyone's patience I did it all and couldn't be happier. I can't thank all of the staff at Canine Health and Hydro enough, everyone is so kind and helpful and they will always try and help you. Definitely the best choice I made doing the course here. I will miss it!

Anne Cahill 

After thinking about becoming a dog groomer and finding a very kind person who let me go and work every Saturday morning in her salon here in Switzerland, I realized that it was something I really wanted to do. As there are no schools here who offer a qualification in this field I decided to look for a training centre in the U.K.

Eventually, I chose two and on a visit to see family last summer, I paid for a taster day in a salon in the North East. However, at the end of the day( 4 hours) I was not very happy with the way it went. A little disappointed, I decided to call Canine Health and Hydro and talked to Kerry the receptionist. With her friendly, informative manner she convinced me to go for it. And the adventure began.
The course of 24 days was adapted for me, 6 days a week for 4 weeks, as I was coming from a long way and had to take unpaid time from work.

I must admit that on my first day, 9th January 2017, when Poppy told me about everything I would have to do over my 4 weeks, I panicked and thought I would never be able to manage it all.
The grooming salon team, Poppy, Sarah and Jess, and patient Kerry's help with printing written assignments from my computer first thing in the morning, soon showed me that it might be possible. With the hands on, from day one, professional approach, encouragement, patience, good humour and all the help and information about course work and exam preparation helped me to start seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.
I lost my confidence a few times because of the short time pressure, wondering if I was doing the right thing at my age (57), but was always brought back from the brink by this wonderful team.
I even managed to fit in an exam revision talk, business talk from Steve and a first aid talk given by a veterinary nurse.

And there it was, suddenly my last day. Course work done, practical assessments over, and City and Guilds exams successfully achieved with a distinction, merit and a pass.
I worked very hard and pushed my limits but without this wonderful team I would never have managed.
I met some lovely people and had some great laughs despite the hard work and highly recommend this place to anyone wishing to join the dog groomers world.

So, here I am one month after. Back at the grooming salon in Switzerland two half days a week. A proposal from a girl with an up and running garage grooming business to join her at the end of April for two full days a week. With the total conviction that by the end of this year, teaching English will be a thing of the past.

Thanks to you all at Canine Groom school.

Anne.xx

Diane 

What a friendly knowledge professional team ! From my first email, to visit I was made welcome by lovely staff, & students.
Thank you

Karen Cross 

Dedicated, professional, personal and caring are a few words from so many I can use to sum the outstanding training I received at Canine Groom School. The whole team are totally committed to each individual ensuring the training you receive is fun, consistent and too the highest standard. Having completed the course 2 months ago I am now in my 8th week of business, fully booked and feeling confident. Clients are rebooking. Thank you for providing the ultimate training in such a short period.

Kathy Unsworth 

This school has got to be the best in the country!! It is second to none. The training, support and 'after care' is amazing. I completed my City and Guilds Level 3 in October 2016 and have since opened a grooming salon. Steve, Poppy and the team are full of advice, tips etc even down to which towels to use in a salon. Worth every penny. Thankyou so much , I have more than enjoyed the course and made some very firm lifetime friends.

Bianca 

I completed the level 3 city and guilds qualification in April, I can honestly say I wouldnt recommend anywhere else, Poppy, Steve, Stacey and Jess make you feel so welcome and put you completely at ease from the minute you walk in on day one to the day you qualify. They're always on the end of the phone during and after the course for tips and advice and they genuinely care about all the dogs they have coming to them. I absolutely loved my time there and I'm looking forward to my new venture that wouldn't have been possible without the ongoing support from these guys. Loved that I could bring my dog in so I could learn how best to style him too!
Thank you for everything,
Bianca and Bruce the dog :)

Emma Smith 

I completed my Level 3 C&G training at Canine health & Hydro Groom school in September 2016 and I was very sad that it came to an end! The tutors and all staff at the centre were always professional and helpful and were fantastic at building my confidence. There were students from many different backgrounds, some beginners and some who had been grooming years and each and every day we all learned something new. Poppy and Steve are always available with help and support even after I qualified and I wouldn't hesitate to do my time there again. I would whole heartedly recommended the groom school and their courses to anyone wanting to learn. The very experienced tutors are willing to share not only their knowledge and expertise but also their personal experiences of running grooming salons.

Michaela Haines 

After spending the last twenty years working for Salford Council I made the decision in April to swap my desk for a table and my keyboard and mouse for scissors and to try and become a professional Dog Groomer. I had no previous experience whatsoever of dog grooming and I'd never held a pair of scissors in my life. All I knew was I loved dogs -a lot! Prior to choosing Canine Health and Hydro I did my research and looked at several places offering the City and Guilds Level 3 training. What finally swayed me to choose to come here were the testimonials and so I felt it was only right that I write one myself and I hope that mine might sway you to come here too! Im not exaggerating when I say that you would have to go a long way to find a better place to train and gain your qualifications. Poppy and Steve and their team make you feel welcome from the minute you walk in there. The Groom School is simply brilliant and the tutorship is second to none. You are taken through every step of the way and before you know it you will become a confident but most importantly competent groomer. Everything you need is provided for you and the support and encouragement you receive is endless. Its not only Poppy and her team who make the Groom School special it's also all of your fellow students that make it such a special time/experience. I have made life long friends from far and wide (you'd be surprised how far people travel just to be taught here!) I will be eternally grateful for the skills I have acquired. I feel incredibly privileged to have been taught by Poppy, she is one very special lady. If you have any choice at all where you do your training then come here. You will not be disappointed. I really could wax lyrical about this place forever but I shan't but what I will finish off by saying is that I could not feel any prouder of being a Canine Health and Hydro Groom School alumni!

Teresa Chappell 

I completed an intense training course with at Canine Health & Hydro in September 2016. It was hard work as I did 6 days per week for 4 weeks which included all practical assessments, tests, exams and course work with no prior experience of dog grooming. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and the expert tuition. Couldn't have passed without them! Would do it all again tomorrow! Thoroughly recommend Canine Health & Hydro!

Lorne Mellonie 

Where can I start?
From the beginning when I originally enquired, Poppy and Steve were extremely helpful and accommodating from the get go. I started my Flexi course in April 2016 and was Level 3 Qualified by mid June 2016.
All the staff at Canine Health and Hydro were so lovely and they genuinely want the best for their students. I could call/email/facebook message any time of day and speak to a staff member if I needed some further information, and I can still call them now if I am ever in need of some help.
Even after leaving the course I still feel very much a part of Canine Health & Hydro Groom School and I think that is a very unique and positive aspect of Groom School for sure. I was sad to leave if I'm honest as I made some good friends whilst studying and I truly admire the skill and expertise Poppy has - (I hope I will get to the same level as her in the future)
I have just booked on to do my Level 3 Diploma in Professional Dog Grooming in May 2017, I am extremely excited to be heading back to Groom School for a couple of mock exam days before sitting my final exams.
I can't recommend Canine Health and Hydro enough. Thank you Poppy, Steve & the gang, I wouldn't be here without your help!!

Lisa Holt 

For anybody thinking about training to be a dog groomer then doing it with Poppy and her team at Canine Groom School is the ONLY way to do it! What an amazing team! Supportive, friendly, patient, generous with their sharing knowledge and experiences - the perfect learning environment. As the saying goes - 'just do it!' You won't regret it.

Eleanor Manning 

It's coming up to 3 years since I first set foot in the groom school. It was all a bit of a whirlwind and despite lacking self confidence with the support and tuition of Poppy, Anna & Steve and the cameraderie of my fellow students I made it to the end! I have been running my own business since April 2014 and now have a busy salon working alongside Animal Care. I still feel part of the family and love the ongoing advice & support we all give each other. Excellent standard of training and highly recommended to anyone interested in starting their own career in dog grooming.

Katy Sorge 

The Canine Groom School has exceeded all my expectations...you couldn't wish for training delivered by the most knowledgeable tutors I have ever met, nothing is too much trouble for them..I knew as soon as I walked into the school this was the place to train. I don't think I ever want to leave!!

Molly Mckiernan

My experience at the groom school has been one in a million. Endless help, advise and knowledge. Poppy, Jess and Sarah have been the best teachers I could have asked for and knowing I have their support even after the course is over makes me so grateful.

Rebecca Young

I jumped in with both feet to take this course with a certain amount of trepidation. However after just one day I knew I had done the right thing.
I have thoroughly enjoyed my 24 days and have gained new skills and a whole load of knowledge about dog grooming.
I am now looking forward in a new direction as a professional dog groomer and can't wait to get started.

Elisa helliwell

I attended groom school and qulaified in April 15, Now running my mobile business full time. I searched for a while for a suitable training school and came across canine health and hydro and didn't
look back, from day one I felt comfortable, had the support, guidance and encouragement I needed. Poppy and Ana were very easy to get along with and I felt I could ask for help at any time. I was
working full time whilst attending groom school which was hard but worth it, I left my full time job early this year and now work full time grooming, loving every minute! I keep a check on the
Facebook page for any hints and tips. Anyone thinking of taking the course you won't be disappointed, it's hands on from day one. Thank you Poppy. Elisa x

Jane

I finished my course at the end of July after travelling from York every weekend and working full time, it was very tiring but I enjoyed and looked forward to my weekends at Canine Groom School. I
can't thank Poppy and the team enough for helping me get through everything, with a few tears on my part a few times during this time. I would recommend Canine Groom School to anyone who wants to
lead a career in Dog Grooming. Thank you to everyone especially Poppy and Stacey for their patients :)

Ella Bunton

In April 2016 I started a flexible dates course with Canine Health & Hydro, and on the 15th June I passed my City & Guilds Level 3 Exam! Since then I have proudly opened my salon 'Natural
Instinct Dog Grooming'; it's an amazing feeling to finally be doing something for myself. I couldn't have done it without the fantastic help, teaching and support from Poppy and Stacey, and all the
nattering and laughs with the rest of the team Jess, Nicole and Linzi. Since I've left I've felt real support from the online groom school group and know if I am ever stuck I can call or message for
help. When I impulsively decided one night to go ahead and find training I wanted to make sure I was going somewhere with a founded reputation and also a nice place and people. Canine Health and
Hydro is not the closest training centre to me but I am so glad I traveled there to do the course and didn't take the easy option. Highly recommended, I looked forward to groom school every day and
now I miss it! xx

Jo Aspinall

This was the best school to attend to become a dog groomer. not only is it hands on from the outset so you get a lot of interaction with the pooches. Poppy & Steve have implemented a business
course, first aid course (with Lianne a vet) and revision talks to help you with every aspect of going at it alone. I had the best experiences at this place and met a lot of lovely people on the way.
Thank you once again Poppy you are a fantastic patient tutor. I would recommend anyone wanting to go into this industry to attend canine health and hydro for the training it truly is a fantastic
place to learn and grow as a groomer. xx

Chelsea Weighman

Well what can I say...
A truly professional, caring and easy environment with the best tutors! Nothing is ever a problem... They are always there to help, even after the course! The course is really in depth and gives you
the confidence to be able to go out and do it all yourself to a really high standard! It's so exciting learn all the different techniques! I would recommend this groom school to absolutely everybody,
the support and help they have given me along the way has ensured that I really am confident to go it alone! Thank you so much... Stacey, Jess & Poppy (not forgetting the lovely receptionist
Linzi)... Canine Health & Hydro is the place to learn your skills, and there new groom room is to die for! I miss all you loads and will be over soon to come and say hello! Thanks for everything,
you've all been amazing! Xxx

Andrea

All I need to say about this course with these people is that it is THE BEST start you could possibly have to kick off your new exciting career as a dog groomer ‘guaranteed’!!! The owners and staff
are amazing; they not only instruct to a very high standard and support you fully during the course, they give you 100% support after the course so you never actually feel alone and never stop
learning. There is a Facebook page which gives you access to communicate with all previous students and which gives you instant responses from the owners and instructors to any questions you might
have once you finish the course for not only grooming related aspects but for the business side of things as well. It’s a community not just a course and if you wish to start a career in the dog
grooming industry then this is the course you should enrol on. They not only run full time courses they run courses that fit round your current lifestyle. I completed a weekend only course as I was
still working but there are also full time courses and there are flexible courses if you work shifts for instance; there is nothing too much trouble so you can be assured that they will do everything
they possibly can to help you complete the course around your current circumstances. This course run by these people has changed my life forever and I can’t thank you enough Poppy, Anna, Stacey and
Steve for all your tuition, help and continued support. Hope to see you all again very soon.
xxx Andrea xxx

Caroline Hedworth

I have just completed my dog grooming training at this amazing place. I have spent 3 months travelling through from Darlington to stay nearby and train every weekend and it has been a truly amazing

experience. The staff are all so lovely and build your confidence from day one. They are professional, kind and have such a positive approach towards the students and offer fantastic advice for
starting your own business. Although I have undertaken this course alongside my full time job I have not once felt like it was too tiring or stressful, quite the opposite! As soon as you enter the
groom salon there is a relaxing, friendly atmosphere and I found it therapeutic and calming. I have finally found what I want to do and I can't thank Poppy, Steve and the team enough for teaching me
and making me believe I can now go out and do this! I can't recommend this groom school enough and if you are thinking about signing up to do this course, don't think about it any longer, just do it!
I am going to miss these guys so much but one day I look forward to having a ride over there again to tell them how well my business is doing :-)

I have just completed my dog grooming training at this amazing place. I have spent 3 months travelling through from Darlington to stay nearby and train every weekend and it has been a truly amazing
experience. The staff are all so lovely and build your confidence from day one. They are professional, kind and have such a positive approach towards the students and offer fantastic advice for
starting your own business. Although I have undertaken this course alongside my full time job I have not once felt like it was too tiring or stressful, quite the opposite! As soon as you enter the
groom salon there is a relaxing, friendly atmosphere and I found it therapeutic and calming. I have finally found what I want to do and I can't thank Poppy, Steve and the team enough for teaching me
and making me believe I can now go out and do this! I can't recommend this groom school enough and if you are thinking about signing up to do this course, don't think about it any longer, just do it!
I am going to miss these guys so much but one day I look forward to having a ride over there again to tell them how well my business is doing :-)

Judith Black

Qualified May 16. Following redundancy from a Financial role I decided a change was needed. I had an interest in dog grooming and hoped to pursue it further. I am so glad I found Canine Health &
Hydro and Groom School, I can never thank Poppy, Steve, Stacey, Jess & Linzi enough for helping me change my life. They are there for you every step of the way with support, advice and guidance.
Their passion for dogs and the grooming profession is truly inspirational. I cannot recommend them highly enough. If you are looking to train as a groomer, look no further. I am now looking forward
to starting my own Business and I know their support and advice is only a phone call away when needed.

Debra murphy

I have completed my city and guilds qualification in April and am chuffed to bits!! I could not have done this without the dedication and patience of the staff at Canine Groom school. In particular
Poppy and Stacey for being the best groomers and teachers I've ever met. Could not have done it without them. I am now grooming part time until I manage to build up a client base and know that if I
need any advise, they are happy to help. Thanks again ?

Lynne Ayre

" Do a job you enjoy and you'll never do a days work in your life." I now know this to be true.
I attended groom school after a 30 year history in Insurance. I have had the most wonderful and patient trainers who always has time to answer any questions. There were several times during the
course that I doubted myself but Poppy and Stacey always came to the rescue and I left feeling skilled and confident in what I had achieved. I am now running my own dog grooming business but do not
feel alone due to the back up the school provides you with after qualification. Steve is also on hand providing useful tips and sound business advice. It was an amazing time at a fabulous place and I
am so proud and happy of what I have achieved. You will not find more skilled or nicer people anywhere.

Mel Newton

I completed my City and Guilds qualification a few weeks ago at the Canine Groom School. Poppy, Steven and all the staff were wonderful and especially Stacey who taught me throughout my time there.
Stacey gave me confidence throughout the course and provided fantastic support through my training and I cannot thank her enough. I am now running my own business and building my clients up every
week. They still provide support now I have left and are only a phone call away if I need them. I highly recommend the Groom School and enjoyed every minute. Mel Newton

Dawn Billington

I have just completed my City and Guilds Level 3 Dog Grooming course which I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. I cannot express enough how helpful and dedicated the tutors and staff have been
throughout the course and got me through the course. I would highly recommend Health and Hydro Dog Grooming school for a future of following your dreams working with dogs. I looked forward to
attending the course everyday learning and experiencing the grooming and handling of dogs and first aid. The staff are very friendly with a family atmosphere. Thank you very much to all staff at
Health and Hydro.

Debbie Martin

Should have done this years ago but after years of working in an office day to day I finally took the plunge and decided to go with my heart and become a dog groomer....this was a challenging course
with lots to learn, take on and remember but with the support of Poppy, Stacey and Steve well worth the work and now I'm up and running my own salon and grooms coming in at a steady pace. The course
like I say was intense but you have instant support and praise from all and any questions are always answered and the help they give is amazing, they give you the confidence to know that you are
capable to go it alone, (even though I never wanted to leave) make you feel welcome and full of knowledge, I have every reason to recommend this groom school it got me through it and it's the best
thing ever achieved, many thanks to all of you. Thanks again xx

Emma Hilton

I have just qualified on the city and guilds level 3 dog grooming course and I have really enjoyed my time. All the team at Canine Health and Hydro have been amazing; I couldn't thank them enough.
The team are professional and really supportive. I would highly recommend this course. Thank you! Xx

Sarah Jane Berry

I have just completed the city and guilds level 3 24 day dog grooming course, as I had child care commitments they were very helpful providing a mixed match of days to fit the course around my life,
I would highly recommend the groom school as they are very accommodating and then the course itself was excellent, hands on experience from day one! poppy, anna and stacy were all very supportive and
really worked with me and boosted my confidence greatly! I know even now I have finished the course, support will still be on hand! Thank you to all the team!

Kellie Hutchinson

Officially completed City and Guilds level three, Canine groom school with a distinction. I throughly enjoyed my time, the team are friendly and professional. Cannot reccommend this groom school
enough, they are dedicated to supporting their students. A huge thank you to Canine health and hydro, groom school staff for everything.x

Christine Exley

After a great deal of thought and research I decided to go to Canine Groom School to learn to become a dog groomer,and it was definitely the right choice. I have just completed the full time
intensive 24 day course and cannot thank Poppy, Steve, Anna,Stacey and Lucy enough for the the fabulous tuition, guidance and support throughout the course. I cannot believe how much I have learned
in such a short time and how much I have enjoyed my learning experience.I have without a doubt been given the best start to my new chosen career and feel confident enough to groom any dog. Poppy and
her team have been amazing throughout the course and even though I have now completed I know they are only a phone call away if I ever need them. Thank you Canine Groom School for everything xx

Fiona Catherwood

After 8 years in a career I no longer enjoyed I knew it was time to "take control" and do something I really wanted to do. Poppy, Anna, Steve and Lucy at the Canine Groom School have enabled me to do
just that. I can't actually believe that in just 24 days how far I have come and that's all thanks to the team. All provide their own years of experiences not just in the practical side of grooming
but also in managing behaviours, talking to clients, animal first aid and running a business.
The course is intensive but totally flexible to fit around you, as if like me you need to fit the training in and around your day job. It's hard work with a lot to learn but I for one had a lot of
fun.
I will now be starting my own mobile dog grooming business and I could not be more excited. Canine Groom School have given me the confidence and the tools to do this, however the support doesn't end
with the end of the course. All students can keep in touch and ask for advice via the Groom School Facebook Page.
If you're passionate about becoming a dog groomer, Canine Groom School is definitely the place to learn the tools of the trade. It was clear to me that the team love what they do and strive to get
the best out of their students. I honestly can't thank them enough!

Emma Botham
I recently completed the City & Guilds qualification at Canine Groom school and can honestly say I loved every minute of it. Poppy and Anna made me feel so at ease right from the off and the way they teach just makes it enjoyable. Whenever I felt like I was struggling with anything they would be there to help and reassure me. I feel confident as a groomer thanks to them and also know they are there for me if I need any help. Definitely recommend the course and Canine Groom School to anyone wanting to become a dog groomer xx

Jill Woodhouse

" I was made redundant after 17 years working as a lab. technician at a candle factory. I had a chance to follow a long time dream to become a dog groomer. After searching on the internet I came across Canine Health & Hydro. Read all the reviews and went for it. I did the intensive course C&G Level 3 and passed July 2nd 2015 with distinction. Still cannot believe it. I could not have done this with out the support of Poppy and Anna. Their patience, experience, knowledge and guidance.
Steve on showing us how to handle difficult dogs and understand their body language also how to run a business.Lucy who gave me encouragement when I doubted myself and booked the dogs in for us.
All the team are friendly and welcoming. From the first day we were all bathing and grooming 2 dogs with a variety of different breeds.
Do not let the course work and the exams scare you as Poppy and Anna teach you everything that you

need to know I am going to miss them all and the students. It was relax and a friendly atmosphere.

Even though I have left I know that they are always at the end of the phone to give advice and support.
I would recommend Canine Health & Hydro to anyone who is thinking of setting up their own dog grooming business or just to groom their own dog/dogs.
Many thanks again for a brilliant 5 weeks. Jill x "

Janet Brothwood

" I have just completed my C & G Level 3 Dog Grooming course at Canine Health & Hydro. It has been a brilliant experience. At the age of 50 years I decided to have a total career change (previously in Financial Services for 32 years). I am so glad that I made this decision and took the “leap of faith” into dog grooming. Poppy and Anna have been excellent trainers. They supported me through the intense grooming course showing me the correct grooming techniques and how to handle the different dogs behaviours. They supported me with the learning and assignment work needed to attain the C & G qualification. I’d also like to say thanks to Steve for his business support and to Lucy who does a great job managing the booking in of dogs to groom. I would recommend using Canine Health & Hydro if you are looking to train to be a Dog Groomer. The team are brilliant and I miss them lots. Thanks for everything Janet Brothwood "

Lesley Roberts

" I have just completed my C&G level 3 certificate in dog grooming with Canine Health & Hydro and have had a fantastic time!! I thoroughly recommend Canine Health & Hydro to anyone considering doing a dog grooming qualification. All the team; Poppy, Anna, Steve & Lucy were extremely professional yet friendly and approachable throughout the entire course. We were grooming dogs from day one; bathing, clipping, scissoring, with continual support and guidance. We were able to groom a wide variety of dogs and I can’t believe it but I have left feeling confident enough to groom a range of dogs on my own! Whilst on the course, you also cover the business aspect in depth which has been a great help too! Once again, a massive thank you to all the team at Canine Health & Hydro – I couldn’t have asked for better tutors!! "

Laura G

" I cant thank everybody enough at the canine groom school for everything, poppy and anna for teaching, steve for the advice and lucy for sorting out all the dogs for us, its one of the hardest but best things i have ever done, i hit a point where i thought id made the wrong decision because its so challenging but with all the right encouragment i got through it and im so happy now to be booking my own dogs in! I made great friends who i think we'll all keep in touch for a long time and have there to ask for advice if i still need it, it was definatly worth it and i miss it alot! Thankyou everyone at canine groom school, especially all the doggy models :-) There cant be a better place to train! "

Zoe Jermyn

" I spent a fab 6 weeks with Poppy and Anna and Steve. It was a lot of fun and there was lots of laughing. Poppy and Anna take a very systematic approach to grooming. You start on the basics and you work your way through the dog, maintaining a good technique at an even, non hurried pace. You start by learning the best way to wash and dry and then the paws and clippering until suddenly you realise you're confidently doing the faces and heads with minimal supervision. The girls are always milling around and are very patient and unhurried. They make it a really nice environment to learn in. They teach to a very high standard of grooming and I get a lot of very good feedback thanks to the skills they taught me.
The only criticism I would have is not always accommodating the student to listen in to the customer when they drop the dog off. So that the student can hear how clients ask for different hair cuts and how you explain why you need to cut it in a certain way etc. However, once in the job, that comes with experience and practice and you find your own way of speaking to clients and understanding what they want.
About 8 months after I finished, I was clippering a very matted old westie. It really upset me and I got myself into a bit of a panic about the whole thing, in my van, outside the owners house! I put a message on our groomers Facebook page pleading for encouraging words and instead of just that, Steve rang me. We talked through the cut and he told me I was doing a great job and I calmed right down. I know that I could ring the "red phone" and I would be supported. And knowing that's there, is a huge comfort.
I would genuinely recommend canine groom school and I wish I could come back, even to just hang out for the day!! "
Zoë Jermyn.
Marching Paws, Wirral.

Kelly Helm

" I've just completed the City & Guilds weekend Dog Grooming Course. I can not speak highly enough of Poppy & Anna with their teaching & Steve with advice on setting up your business.
If your looking for a course, then look no further, you won't find a better course than the Canine Groom School, with the relaxed atmosphere, warm welcome & the tuition you receive, you will walk out feeling confident, you know you have just been taught from the best!
I will miss you all and thank you! "

Emma Draper

" I would like to say a massive thank you to all at the Groom school for their fabulous and professional tuition and teaching. I finished this course just before Christmas, Anna was my tutor for the duration and her skills, patients and knowledge were second to none. I fully believed I would enjoy the course but could not foresee how much I would enjoy it or learn in such a short space of time. Steve and poppy always there to give help and business advice even down to ordering the products I needed to start on my own. The school provide a wide verity of breeds and temperaments so you are ready and confident to go out on your own. I Would not hesitate on recommending this establishment, all the experice and knowledge under one roof is amazing, which they are more than willing to share. Once again thank you."

Aliece sheridan

" My name is aliece and I have Just finished my level 3 in dog grooming ..all my life learning has been so hard for me as I am dyslexic n learning new skills is a Challenge .all the staff at the training school are so good n helpful . I spent a lot of time with Anna who is amazing she is a brilliant teacher and had so much time for me she encouraged me all the way ,when ever I needed her she was there ,she really did go above and beyond to help me there was time when I could of give up and thanks to her support and patience I passed "

Carol Houghton

" Can't teach an old dog new tricks? Poppy and Anna can! I have just completed my 24 day City & Guilds Dog Grooming course and could not have done this without their help, support and encouragement. Anyone who is thinking about doing this course and is concerned, don't be. The tuition is excellent and I would certainly recommend this groom school to anyone. They provide a wide variety of dogs to ensure you have exposure to all breeds and are very patient and helpful. This is a quality operation that I am sure you will find hard to beat. The team is excellent. The business support provided by Steve, along with his knowledge of how to handle the dogs, is second to none. I cannot praise the team enough!

 

I am 55 years old and always wanted to be a dog groomer . The time finally came last year when I took the city and guilds course and passed and now I have a one to one grooming business which is taking off and I enjoy it so much . I couldn't have been trained at a better place all hands on with the dogs under the guidance of the best teachers Poppy, Anna and Steve they are all so enthusiastic to teach you. I loved every minute of the course and was sad when it ended as I made some lovely friends too. I can't recommend this course enough and all I can say is Go For It !!! You will not be disappointed . "

Sammy Lamb

" I completed this course in October 2013 and do not look back on it at all. Poppy, Anna and Steve are relaxed and friendly, making the classes good fun; but they remained thoroughly professional and vigilant in their approach towards the dogs in their care. The course was fantastic; from day one all the students had a hands on approach and we would groom at least 2 dogs a. The breeds and sizes varied from day to day, as did the temperament of each dog we were given to groom. This not only gave us the opportunity to learn the style cuts for a multitude of breeds, but also get a feel for the differing temperaments and medical issues of each breed. We learnt first aid and I had the opportunity to work in the grooming salon in Padiham, which gave me a working insight into how a grooming salon works. I would thoroughly recommend this course for anyone who wishes to venture into the dog grooming business; it is hands on from the get go, it is fun, it is hugely informative and it is everything you need to start your business. Thank you ! "

Carl Walsh 
I have now completed the 24 Day Professional Dog Grooming course at Canine Health and Hydro.

I also completed the City & Guilds Level 3 Grooming qualification and passed with flying colours! None of this would have been possible without the careful training and attention Poppy, Anna, and Steve provided. From day one you feel like an instrumental part of a working salon and the dogs you groom over the days and weeks vary in breed, size and temprement. This not only gives you the chance to practice various different styles, it also grounds in you vital dog handling skills. I have, since finishing the course groomed several dogs very confidently, and feel I can deal with both client and owner in a professional manner. The team continue to provide help and support beyond the duration of the course so if I get stuck or feel out of my depth I know I can easily contact them. Thanks again Poppy, Anna, and Steve.

Laura Stott 
" If you want the perfect dog grooming course then look no further you are in the right place! I've just completed the 24 day intensive training and come out with a distinction and obviously im over the moon and can't stop pinching myself. Poppy, anna and steve are the best teachers you could ask for, they are patient, professional and the skills they teach you are fantastic. They fill you confidence and reassure you that you can do it. You are hands on from day one and by the time you have finished your course you will have groomed every breed under the sun. I can't thank them enough for everything they have done for me, they have been absolutely fantastic I couldn't recommend them enough. Thanks guys, you are super stars and I will miss you loads.xxxxxx "

Michelle Thurn
" Like a lot of other students I trolleyed the internet for a grooming course to fit in with my work obligations and I found it at Canine Health and Hydro. I recently finished the 12 weekend (24 day) grooming course. This was a fantastic course with a hands on approach from day one!

The groom team were great! a really friendly bunch who monitored your progress carefully and helped you work on the areas you needed to. There was a wide variety of dog breeds covered on the course which is exactly what I wanted in training! The atmosphere in the groom room was relaxed and sociable, and at the end of the course I felt quite sad to leave the groom team and other students who id been closely working with. It was a great experience and I came out with a distinction which I was chuffed about :)

I now feel confident enough to go ahead and set up my own grooming business. I am about to launch my mobile grooming business and I already have people asking to book me just from seeing my picture portfolio from the groom course! Ignore the online dog grooming courses, you need to learn the practical skills and get stuck in which is what this course is about.

I fully recommend this course, you wont be disappointed plus the backdrop is beautiful and a pleasure to drive to! A big thanks to Poppy, Anna and Steve it was a pleasure to learn with you! Xx "

Lisa Sinclair               

" If you made the decision to be a groomer you couldn't choose a better place to train. Poppy and her team are very professional and teach you to groom to a very high standard. It's not always easy but they show you how to deal with the trickiest dogs. Learning how to handle difficult dogs is as important as learning how groom them and they know what to do!

I came out of the course having groomed almost 50 dogs from a wide cross section of breeds. I feel well prepared to set up my business and they promise continued support to help me on my way.

A brilliant experience. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the course. Let no dog go ungroomed....! "

Andrew Edward Corrigan        
       
" Thankyou!!! its not much but it speaks volumes. after searching for a dog grooming course i couldnt of found a better one, poppy, steve and anna were amazing from the first time i stepped through the door to the last. there skill and knowledge is far beyond anything i imagined, it was the perfect course run by the perfect people, thankyou, you have given me the skill, knowledge and motivation to start my own business which i did not think was possible, once again....thankyou!!!! "

Rebecca Mart
 
" After searching high and low for a really good hands on dog grooming course, I finally stumbled across Canine Groom School at Canine Health and Hydro and what a fantastic find it was!  

Their intensive courses offer so much to their students. It is very hands on from the word go, you get to know all of the different techniques to grooming and handling, learn about the business side of the grooming industry, but best of all, for me especially, you get salon experience with real clients and a variety of different breeds. I found all of the tips and advice given by Poppy, Steve and Anna completely invaluable, grooming is not easy but with their help, tuition and practice its truly amazing how everything falls into place. I now have the skills and confidence needed to be let loose into the grooming world and cannot thank the team enough for all of their hard work and effort throughout the course. It's been life changing for me and I couldn't recommend it enough! "

Julia Ward

 " thank you poppy, anna and steve
the 5 week grooming course was fantastic, poppy and anna are great teachers, very patient, and I felt that they really wanted me to achieve the best that I could. the course was very intensive, I cant believe how much I have learned in 5 weeks, it was hard work but worth every bit of
it. I achieved a distinction and was over the moon and now have the confidence to go out and be a dog groomer on my own, steve was fantastic with his advice on the business side of things. poppy, anna and steve have given me so much confidence, they are still there for me at the end of a phone if I need any advice now I am out in the bigwide world on my own. Thanks so much to all of you not forgetting sabine who makes a lovely cup of coffee"


Jayne Smiles

" Having decided that I wanted to take a professional dog grooming course, I looked at a couple of different training centres.  As soon as I visited  Canine Health and Hydro however,  I knew that this was where I wanted to train.  The grooming school is bright, spacious and well equipped.  The welcome I received was also  extremely warm and friendly. Training here was definitely the right decision. From day one  I was grooming a wide variety of dogs and learning new skills all the way.  In addition to grooming, I also learnt about dog handling, client care and how to build my own business. I think that this rounded approach to the teaching is what sets this course apart.  Poppy is an excellent teacher and is always there to give tuition and guidance.  As a student I had responsibility for the dog I was grooming, yet at the same time, I received all the help and support I needed to ensure that I was achieving a well finished and thorough groom for my doggy 'clients'.  

The course taught me technical skills, theory, and practical skills in a fun and friendly environment.  I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the training at Canine Health and Hydro.  With my diploma now hanging proudly from my wall, I feel I am ready to launch my own dog grooming business. "

Andrea Kyriakou 

" I've just completed the Canine Professional Dog grooming course and couldn't recommend it enough. From start to finish the course provides you with the hands on practical skills necessary for this profession. Poppy's style of teaching is very straight forward and encouraging which allows you to grow in confidence as you learn to master the different grooming techniques.

 You are guided through grooming all manner of dog breeds as well as handling difficult temperaments.

It is a very thorough practical course which i would highly recommend "

Debbie Dixon

" I have just completed the 25 day grooming course and started my own mobile grooming business, I cant believe how my life has changed from when I joined Poppy for my taster day, I was working for large
company, with 0% job satisfaction, enormous amounts of stress and very little work life balance.  I have so much to thank Ana, Poppy & Steve for.  When the course first started I couldn't help thinking, how wil
I

i ever do this, then things suddenly all started to fall into place, just like Ana & Poppy said it would.  It is hard work, both physically and mentally but so rewarding, it beats anything I have ever done before. The ideal part of this course is that you get input and feedback from 3 different groomers, which helps you decide which way is best for you.  Also, you don't just see the well behaved dogs you get to see how to handle the naughty ones too, giving you real exposure to dog behaviours that you will need to manage with your own customers. Steve gave me advice on how to manage collecting dogs from their doorsteps and how work with the dogs in my van, which has been truly invaluable.  I still have to pinch myself as I cant believe that I have calls on a daily basis from new customers and thanks to Canine Groom School, I am a professional dog groomer.  Job satisfaction 100%, stress 0%, work life balance 100%.  I really cant thank you guys enough !!!!! "


Sylvia Plant-Mathieu

"I have just completed the 5 week dog grooming course at Canine Health and Hydro.  After looking at different academys for dog grooming I decided that the above academy offered the best course.   So I packed my bags and travelled from Canada to take the 5 week course.   I was not wrong in my instinct because the course is brilliant.  It is intensive but the instructors, Poppy, Steve and Ana are superb in their teaching skills.   The course was not only teaching us how to groom but also the business side of a grooming salon too along with dog handling skills, plus a Pet First Aid course.
Thank you Poppy, Steve and Ana for helping me open a new chapter in my life and for sending me off feeling confident in my new venture.
It really was worth the 3000 mile trip to attend the Grooming Academy.   xxxxxx"

Julie Gilrane

"A big thanks to Poppy, Steve and Anna who through a lot of hard work and patience successfully trained myself and two others to become professional dog groomers through their Groom School.

 It was a hard 5 weeks, dog grooming is not easy, but I thoroughly enjoyed every minute and would recommend anyone thinking of taking it up that you consider training at the Groom School at Canine Health and Hydro"

SUBSCRIBE HERE FOR DISCOUNTS

Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© Canine Health and Hydro

This website was created using 1&1 MyWebsite.